October 5, 2009

NFL: Week 4

Filed under: Football — Jonathan @ 10:35 am

With the main action for week 4 ending, my picks for the week were almost spot on. If only I had posted them a couple of days ago I could feel good about it. Starting this week, I’ll post my picks.

I hate to say this, but I think the best part of week 4 was that the Jets lost. Honestly, they were playing New Orleans.. I could have told you last week that they were going to get creamed. No surprises, right? It seems to be this yearly ritual now that when the Jets win their first game or two of the season everyone thinks their going to the super bowl. Whether it’s Brett Favre or Rex Ryan or any other miracle personnel, everyone seems to get so wrapped up in the idea of the Jets magically becoming the best team of the season. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that the Jets are terrible; let’s not forget they did almost make it into the playoffs last year (NOT the super bowl) and they are looking like a good team this season. Mark Sanchez is already turning some heads (another sensational rookie QB in the league?) and the Rex Ryan defense is looking tough. I do live in New York and I do root for the Jets. Are they a super bowl team though? I don’t think so. I think they have a good shot at the playoffs this year, maybe in a wild card slot. But let’s not forget that it is only week 4 and we saw how fast they fell apart last season (injured Favre or not).

Other then that, I guess my other feelings are:

  • Tom Brady is a pansy. Forget “roughing the passer”, break his arm.
  • Ray Lewis still annoys me for no reason.
  • Marion Barber WILL get into the end zone.
  • Tony Romo: do you miss Terrell yet?
  • Terrell Owens: do you miss Tony yet?
  • I think Eli Manning is one of the only QB’s that could have a game ending, non-contact injury and make me think “of course that just happened”.
  • I was so excited when Tampa Bay was up over Washington.. Too bad they couldn’t hold on.

My pick for tonight? Green Bay over Minnesota. I hope this isn’t just wishful thinking. I have been looking forward to this game since Favre left Green Bay. This game is a big deal for reasons well beyond either teams record.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

